Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Want to Hear Alan Gilbert for Free?

American Public Media's SymphonyCast has a show with Alan Gilbert conducting the Cleveland Orchestra. The text mentions the Mozart clarinet concerto (nauseatingly described as "a clarinet player's greatest treasure") and Dvorak's Sixth Symphony, but what about that photo of Stravinsky? Is there another piece on the program?

I haven't listened to the program yet, but it's a chance for you to hear Gilbert and draw some preliminary conclusions about his skills and leadership.


Steve said...

I honestly don't remember seeing this detail when I looked at the page earlier, but Stravinsky's Symphony in Three Movements is now listed as being part of the program.

True story: First thing I did when I got back to the office from the Gilbert press conference was to look for recordings he'd led -- of which there are nearly none. So I sent an e-mail to my press contact at the Philharmonic, suggesting that they actually dig up all their archived concerts with Gilbert and put them on the NY Phil website for streaming, just to set the stage.

I have no idea whether they'll follow up on that idea, but at least now I'm on record as having suggested it…

Lisa Hirsch said...

That is a great idea.

Uh, does the NYP have streaming content on its Web site? I think I will go look.

Steve said...

The Phil generally streams its weekly radio broadcasts for a period of several weeks after they've aired, which is how I've managed to hear a number of significant concerts I missed catching live. Go to the home page, then click on "Broadcasts & Recordings."

Strangely, however, the series of archival programs airing during the summer is apparently not being streamed -- a bummer, given that the program airing on August 1 and 2 covers NY Phil premieres, including Dvorak's "New World" Symphony, Copland's Connotations, Corligliano's Clarinet Concerto and Carter's A Symphony of Three Orchestras.

I have to confess that I gave up on listening to that Symphonycast web stream with Alan Gilbert and the Cleveland Orchestra -- too many glitches in the connection here at the office. Maybe later...

Lisa Hirsch said...

Oh, frustrating!