Tuesday, March 02, 2021

Another Great Concert by Sarah Cahill

Pianist Sarah Cahill, a tremendous musician and advocate for new, recent, and 20th c. music, has a terrific program coming up. It'll be streamed, so you can watch it from anywhere.

Sarah Cahill: The Future is Female Concert presented by Community School of Music & Arts


Saturday March 20, 2021 at 7:30pm PT

Streaming live, free to watch at: http://arts4all.org/events/sarah-cahill-celebration-of-the-centennial-of-the-19th-amendment


To mark the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, pianist Sarah Cahill presents her third concert at CSMA, featuring classical works from her latest project, The Future is Female, including music by Margaret Bonds, Clara Schumann, Amy Beach, Hélène de Montgeroult, and Vítězslava Kaprálová.


Hélène de Montgeroult, Sonata No. 9, Opus 5 No. 3

Clara Schumann, Variations Op. 20

Teresa Carreño, “Un rêve en mer”

Amy Beach, “Dreaming”

Vítězslava Kaprálová, “April Prelude” No. 1 and 3

Margaret Bonds, “Troubled Water”

Note also that a week from this Thursday, on March 11, Cahill appears on the San Francisco Symphony's Soundbox program:

Thursday, March 11, 2021: San Francisco Symphony’s SFSymphony+ Soundbox series

Information: https://www.sfsymphonyplus.org/products/lineage-julia-bullock

Sarah Cahill performs Elizabeth Ogonek’s “In this uncontainable night,” from Orpheus Suite (after Rilke) and Bach’s Invention No. 13 in A minor, BWV 784 on this program curated by SF Symphony Collaborative Partner and classical vocalist Julia Bullock. This century-spanning program bridges defiant contrasts and unearths surprising connections, and also features members of the SF Symphony and Chorus and violinist Benjamin Beilman.

No comments: