Saturday, August 09, 2008

Robert Bowman at the Hillside Club, Berkeley

Nice program here:

Robert Bowman
In Recital
Friday August 29th at 8:00 PM
Admission $15 ($10 for HSC members and Seniors)
The Berkeley Hillside Club
2286 Cedar Street
Berkeley 94709
Info: (510) 845-1350

The Berkeley Hillside Club is delighted to welcome back to our stage keyboard artist Robert Bowman in a concert of keyboard music spanning three centuries, including works by Prokofiev, Mozart, Scarlatti, Gottschalk, and Brahms. Don't miss this wonderful artist performing in our acoustically-excellent hall!

The Artist:

Keyboard artist ROBERT BOWMAN has performed extensively on the West and East Coasts of the United States in solo and chamber ensemble recitals, numerous appearances with orchestra, and on radio and television since 1960. He has also performed in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Mexico, and Prague (Czech Republic). He has also performed and lectured for state conventions and local branches of the Illinois State Music Teachers, CAPMT, MTAC, AGO, and Northern Nevada Music Teachers Association.

He has taught on the music faculties of U.S.C., Eastern Illinois University, and California State University, Chico where he was coordinator of the keyboard program for 33 years and Certification Program in Keyboard Pedagogy for the past 7 years. He was awarded Professor Emeritus in 2003 and fully retired at the end of the Spring Semester 2008 after teaching half-time for the past 5 years.

The Program:

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Sonata #1 in F Minor, Op. 1: Allegro

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Sonata #8 in A Minor, K 310
Allegro maestoso
Andante cantabile con espressione

Louis Moreau Gottschalk (1829-1869)
Le Bananier (Chanson Nègre), Op. 5
Souvenir de Porto Rico (Marche des Gibaros), Op. 31
Le Banjo (Esquisse Américaine), Op. 15

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)
Sonata in F major, Kk. 44, Allegro
Sonata in C minor, Kk. 84, Presto
Sonata in F minor, Kk. 238, Andante
Sonata in F minor, Kk. 239, Allegro

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Sonata #3 in F minor, Op. 5
Allegro maestoso
Andante. Andante espressivo - Andante molto
Scherzo. Allegro energico avec trio
Intermezzo (Rückblick / Regard en arrière) Andante molto
Finale. Allegro moderato ma rubato

No comments: