Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Bolcom, Barber, and Copland at NCCO

New Century Chamber Orchestra closes out their 2009-10 season with an appealing program that features a violin concerto written for music director Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg by American composer William Bolcom. Here's what they're playing -

Barber, Adagio for Strings
Bolcom, Romanza (NCCO commission and world premier; read more about it at SFCV.)
Copland, Appalachian Spring in original 13-player chamber version
Copland, "Hoedown," from Rodeo

You can hear this program at the following dates, times, and venues. Tickets are $32-54, with discounts for patrons under 30.

1 comment:

Joe Barron said...

Ah, the Adagio for strings. Our national music of mourning. If you've heard it twice, that's pretty much all you need.